Attack on BJP's election campaign rally in Dantewada, MLA Bhima Mandavi's death

  • Naxalites attacked BJP MLA's convoy in Naxal affected Dantewada district
  • Five people including MLA, including MLA, killed in Maoist attack on IFF convoy
  • Among the dead, a driver of the MLA and three private security personnel was also involved
  • Chhattisgarh's sensitive Bastar is part of Lok Sabha Dantewada district
  • Attack on Bastar Lok Sabha seat on April 11, two days before voting
    Dantewada Attack
In Dantewada district of Chhattisgarh, the Maoists attacked a convoy of a BJP legislator. In this attack, BJP MLA Bhima Mandavi, his driver and three security personnel were killed. This naxalite attack in Dantewada has happened at that time, while voting for Lok Sabha elections on April 11 is to be done here.

Naxal-affected Dantewada district of Raipur Chhattisgarh, the Maoists attacked a convoy of a BJP MLA. The Maoists have attacked IED on the convoy of BJP MLA Bhima Mandavi in ​​Dantewada. BJP's MLA Bhima Mandavi has died in this attack. Three security personnel and a driver were also killed in the convoy along with the MLA when the IED blast came in the grip. Dantewada is the area of ​​Bastar Lok Sabha constituency of Chhattisgarh and voting is scheduled to be held on 11th April. 

According to DIG ANTI Naxal Operations P. Sundar Raj, the attack happened in the Kuangoda area of ​​Dantewada district when the MLA's caravan was passing from here. By blasting the IED, the Maoists targeted a vehicle of security forces involved in the convoy's convoy. According to sources, BJP legislator Bhima Mandavi died in the attack. At the same time, 1 driver and three jawans deployed in the security duty were martyred when the escort vehicle was hit by the blast. 

After the attack, the officials have sent the CRPF and state police teams in a hurry to a large number here, after which the area surrounding the incident has been sealed. Apart from this, the search operation has also been launched in search of the attackers. After the attack in Chhattisgarh, PM Narendra Modi condoled the incident and conveyed condolences to the martyrs' families. In his tweet, the PM wrote, "I strongly condemn the Maoist attack in Chhattisgarh. In this attack my whole heart is with the families of the martyrs and the sacrifice of the martyrs will not go waste. 

On continuous targets, the CRPF jawan should
tell you that in Chhattisgarh several times earlier, the Maoist attackers targeted the Central Reserve Police Force jawans. In July 2018, the Maoists attacked the BSF jawans in Kanker district of Chhattisgarh, in which two BSF soldiers were martyred. Earlier on March 13, 2018, the soldiers of the 212 Battalion of CRPF in the Sukma district of the state were attacked. In this naxalite attack by the IED, 9 CRPF personnel were martyred. 

Major Naxalite attacks in the country so far
25 May 2013: More than a thousand Maoists attacked Chikitsa transit in Sukma district of Chhattisgarh. In this accident, 25 people, including Congress leader Vidyacharan Shukla, Mahendra Karma and Nandkumar Patel, were killed and many others were injured. 

April 6, 2010: Naxals killed 76 people, including 75 CRPF personnel, in Chintanar forest in Dantewada district. 

April 4, 2010: A police bus attack in Koraput district of Odisha, 10 jawans of Special Action Team, 16 injured and injured. 

March 23, 2010: The Bhubaneswar-New Delhi Rajdhani Express is derailed by blasting the railway line in Bihar's Gaya district. On the same day, the Howrah-Mumbai line damaged by attacking the railway track of Odisha. 

15 February 2010: Nearly 100 Naxalites in Silda in West Bengal attacked the police camp and killed 24 jawans, looted arms. 

October 8, 2009: Kill 17 policemen by attack Lahiri police station in Gadchiroli district of Maharashtra. 

  • Naxalite
  • Bharatiya Janata Party
  • Dantewada 
  • Chhattisgarh